6 Tips On How To Get Medical Marijuana in Connecticut
If you live in Connecticut, the law allows you to access medical weed without prosecution, and nobody can deny you the privilege of using cannabis for health purposes. However, only those with qualifying conditions for a medical card in CT can apply for the MMJ card.
Also, to be eligible, you must adhere to the state’s laws on acquiring the card that will help you access your weed relief. Though this may seem complex, we’ll guide you on a few steps to get you started.
Steps and Tips to Guide You Acquire an MMJ Card in CT
Every state that has legalized the use of medical weed has specific rules for applicants to follow. These are Connecticut medical marijuana weed applications.
1. Required Medical Conditions
Anyone trying to acquire a medical marijuana card must have an underlying condition. These are some of the common medical conditions set by the health department of Connecticut.
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Wasting Syndrome
- Intractable Spasticity
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Cystic Fibrosis
- Sickle Cell Disease
- Cerebral Palsy
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
2. Doctor’s Evaluation
Well, everyone can claim to have one of the above qualifying conditions for a medical card in CT to access the weed. That’s why the state requests for doctor’s certification and approval. So, he will evaluate you and even ask for your medical records to inspect them.
3. Get Certified
If your doctor approves one of the medical conditions stipulated by the state, he will certify you. Then he will start your registration in the online application. For him to do this, he will ask for the following documents:
- An email address
- An updated telephone number.
4. Create An Account
So, if you’re still wondering how to get medical marijuana in Connecticut, you must register with the state if you have a qualifying disease. And for you to access the registration system, you’ll need to have an account. Here you’ll also be able to verify the details you submitted to your doctor. At the same time, you’ll find some verification questions to answer.
5. Make Payments
After the successful online application process, you’ll need to give proof of your documents showing that you’re a resident of Connecticut. These include:
Driver’s License-It can be one of the approved identity documents.
Residing State Proof: Documents such as utility bills, company computer-generated bills, and bank statements not more than three months old are acceptable proof of residence.
A Recent Passport Photo: We recommended applying for the renewal one month before your card’s expiration date.
The initial application fee is $100, while renewal is $125.
So, the patient can use the MMJ card for one year from the certification date. And it’s best to renew it a month before expiry (11th month) to avoid delays in your cannabis access. You might also have to start a new application if you forget to renew.
- Show some proof that they live and are residents of Connecticut
- Finish all the certification and verification steps
- Give their updated photo
- Pay the registration fee
- Make an update of any changed information in the past year.
After the patient gets his card approval, the card processing will take about 30 days. Then the patient will receive a temporary certificate from DOCP via email, which is why providing the correct email is critical. Then you can print it and present it to any dispensary authorized to sell the weed products by the state.
Observe the Rules
While using medical weed in CT is legal, some rules help curb drug misuse.
- If you’re a Connecticut patient with one of the qualifying conditions for a medical card in CT, you can only access a maximum weed of 2.5 ounces a month. But you can get more if your physician finds fit to do so.
- Don’t forget your MMJ card when visiting the marijuana dispensary. No one will attend to you if you don’t show the card.
- Only licensed patients can plant weed in Connecticut. If you don’t qualify, it will be illegal to cultivate medical cannabis.
If you follow the above rules, you’ll enjoy the use of medical weed products without getting confined. However, you might attract a penalty of $100,000 for violation.
Medical cannabis is undeniably a significant discovery in the medical industry and has improved people’s quality of life. So, with these few tips, don’t hesitate to apply for your MMJ card if you’re a qualifying patient in CT. We’ve shown you how to get medical marijuana in Connecticut, and this will help alleviate the pain and deal with the medical conditions you’re battling.